Sapiens

A Brief History of Humankind
Sapiens
Author:
Yuval Noah Harari
Publication year:
2016
Page count:
464
Topics:
• Culture
• History
• Philosophy
• Science & Technology
Rating:
• Amazon: 4.6 / 5
• GoodReads: 4.45 / 5

Our thoughts on this book

Gus Quintini
Thursday, October 18, 2018

This book packs a whole lot of information about our past and explains a lot about our present. I took me a while to get through the book, but every time I picked it up I couldn’t put it down! I would recommend this read to anyone who is looking for some insight into why we are the way we are.

Lannie Le
Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective.
100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one.
Us.
Homo Sapiens.
How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come?
In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical — and sometimes devastating — breakthroughs of the Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, palaeontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behaviour from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come?
Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power… and our future.